The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Tags:

Strange buzzing on Zoom F8 (can you help me identifty the problem?)
Old 9th August 2017
Here for the gear

Strange buzzing on Zoom F8 (can you help me identifty the problem?)

Hello,
I work as an on set sound mixer/boom op and every once and a while my recorder picks up this really strange buzzing noise. I've been doing some googling and can't seem to find many other people with this problem with my specific recorder.

At first I thought it might be the lavs picking up some rogue wireless signal but it's coming through the boom track.

I run a Sennheiser MKH50 into a K-Tek pole with an internal wire into my Zoom F8 portable recorder with a standard XLR cable.

It works fine like 98% of the time but every once in a while starts picking up this buzzing noise that sounds like a fly buzzing mixed with electric current. It usually works fine if I turn it off and turn it back on but it's still frustrating that it will ruin a take occasionally and I have no idea why.

I've attached a sample of a take where it started acting up.

Any advice on how to fix or identify the problem would be fantastic.

Thanks in advance,
Louis
Attached Files

Zoom Audio Buzzing.mp3 (3.82 MB, 437 views)

Old 10th August 2017
Lives for gear

Maybe I´m too old but I cannot hear anything described in the sample...

Matti
Old 10th August 2017
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by polishdog90 View Post
...every once and a while my recorder picks up this really strange buzzing noise. I've been doing some googling and can't seem to find many other people with this problem with my specific recorder...