The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Podcast rig suggestions for a specific application
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Podcast rig suggestions for a specific application

Hi all,

I'm a full time mastering engineer although I did spend the first 15 years of my career recording an mixing. I'm starting a new podcast/interview project with some specific requirements and wanted to get some input on possible gear choices, for a lifetime audio guy I'm pretty ignorant in this area.

I will be interviewing homeless people, wherever I meet them. I don't want to use a handheld mic because I feel it will make people self conscious, I want the conversations to feel as natural as possible and they will be anywhere from 20 mins to an hour long.

I'll be recording on the street so background and traffic noise will be an issue and something like a lav mic seems too fiddly to set up. I have gotten a DPA magnetic necklace mic to try but I'm concerned about phase issues if I'm wearing an omni as well as the interviewee.

For the recorder I'm looking for something with uncompressed audio, reliable, sounds good and ideally small so it can always be in my laptop bag.

Thanks,
Ruairi
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruairi View Post
I will be interviewing homeless people, wherever I meet them. I don't want to use a handheld mic because I feel it will make people self conscious, I want the conversations to feel as natural as possible and they will be anywhere from 20 mins to an hour long.

I'll be recording on the street so background and traffic noise will be an issue and something like a lav mic seems too fiddly to set up.