The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Recording a Duo (Vocal & Acoustic guitar) in a Church
Old 4th August 2017
Gear Head

Recording a Duo (Vocal & Acoustic guitar) in a Church

Hi All,
I am going to be doing a recording & video of a duo playing in a smallish church soon (vocal & acoustic guitar) and wanted to reach out for some advise (yes I have searched threads before starting this one to no avail). I am the guitarist and engineer as well so it makes it a bit more difficult... Also the fact that I am new to location recording.

My thoughts:
Mid/Side ambiance mics about 4/5 m in front, behind the video camera positioned to taste - Sony C37a in cardoid (or Neumann M147) and Neumann U87ai in fig.8. Ordered a special mic clip to put them both on one stand for ease of setup.

Spot mics - Vocal - Sontronics Halo (I know it's a dynamic for guitar but the singer likes the look for the video!)
Acoustic - mic at the 12th fret pointing towards the sound hole at an angle. Choice of mics Neumann KMS105 or AKG 535eb or Octava MK012 cardoid

Incidentally I have 2 Octava MK012 with only cardoid capsules, is it worth using them for ambiance too?

Interface: Prism Orpheus using the inbuilt 4 mic pres or I could take out a rack with AMS/Neve 1073 DPA and UA 7-410 for more channels or a Neve Portico 5017 which is portable too. I want to do this with the least hassle possible but with the best sound obviously.

Any suggestions? different strategies?

Many thanks for your time to pitch in!

Cheers, Robert
Old 5th August 2017
Lives for gear