The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
MS tips/techniques for (field) recording
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Addict

MS tips/techniques for (field) recording

I am new to M/S recording (or recording in general if I may be humble) and I wondered if some of you could share tips and techniques for M/S field recording. I'm beginning to record sound effects, ambience, nature (as well as live gigs sometimes).

For instance, I understand that you need to duplicate the figure-of-8 signal and inverse its polarity to get true stereo from M/S. However, using the MixPre-3 as my mixer/digital recorder, the matrix stage would necessarily come later, at home, in production so to speak. So I wonder how you can trust/guide your ears with the placing of your microphones since you're actually not hearing the final recording.

Any piece of advice will be useful

Cheers from Spain!
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Octave Octavio View Post
I am new to M/S recording (or recording in general if I may be humble) and I wondered if some of you could share tips and techniques for M/S field recording. I'm beginning to record sound effects, ambience, nature (as well as live gigs sometimes).

For instance, I understand that you need to duplicate the figure-of-8 signal and inverse its polarity to get true stereo from M/S. However, using the MixPre-3 as my mixer/digital recorder, the matrix stage would necessarily come later, at home, in production so to speak. So I wonder how you can trust/guide your ears with the placing of your microphones since you're actually not hearing the final recording.

Cheers from Spain!
The MP3 has an MS matrix for the HP-out so you can hear XY while recording MS.
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Addict

Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
Are you sure ?