The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Am i a Mixing Engineer?
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Am i a Mixing Engineer?

Well guys I've been making beats since 2011 after my high school graduation. Over the years I've learned what i really takes to not only just make a beat with drums, a sample, synth, snares, ect.... but that i must mix each element as correctly and clean as possible so its enjoyable for the listeners, and ready for the artist to record to, then master. Since i now use a macbook pro,logic pro X, and i mix every single element myself , i really am pushing to be an equal mixing engineer as well as producer. So since stating what i really do behind the boards, am i also considers a mixing engineer. I only as because i want to gauge feedback and opinions of those who really love and know music, and who also who may have more knowledge than i do.
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear
Can you solve physics problems mathematically? Do you know the fundamental theorem of calculus and how to apply it to acoustic measurements, electronic circuit analysis, music theory, real-time algorithms for software, etc? I would say you are a mix technician or mixing artist. An engineer is an engineer. The guys in white lab coats from EMI that built and operated custom gear for Abbey Road in the 60s were engineers.
Old 2 weeks ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by GiovonniGupton View Post