The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Upgrading my small studio...thoughts??
Old 22nd October 2013
Here for the gear

Upgrading my small studio...thoughts??

Hello everyone...ive been a Gearslutz fan for yearsss and ive used the posts on here as a chief consultant for new studio gear, or even live gear. But ive never posted on here, until now!

(now that i got all that out of the way)

Ive been working with artists for many years now, in engineering, production, mixing and mastering in the Houston area. Got a BA in Music Technology in 09 in Oklahoma (during which i spent 6 weeks at the REC Workshop in Chillicothe OH). Blah, blah, blah....

Now to the actual question...i've been running a home studio (in my garage) since '07 with this setup: AT 3035 mic --- M-Audio Firewire 1814 interface ---- to my iMac 07 version (via firewire) ---- to KRK Rokit 8 monitors.

That's it...very basic setup. But im going to upgrade in a few months to much better gear, b/c i know and read that no matter how much plugins you have in your DAW (and i use anywhere from Brainworx to Softube to SPL to Oxford to good 'ol Waves), without any outboard gear (like a/d d/a converters), your mixes will ALWAYS sound boxy...regardless of how good of a mixing/mastering engineer you are.

My primary genre is R&B/Hip-Hop, but i also make Soul, Gospel, Pop, Dance, Rock, African & Reggae styles as well.

I want to upgrade piece-by-piece, but of course i want to make sure im getting the right gear at an affordable price (but on a pro-level). Here's what im thinking:

I need a a/d d/a converter BAD! Ive been seeing the Lynx 8 channel converters for a while...how good are those?

As for as the interface, would i need the Digi 003 (or 002)...or just go for the 192 i/o...or would it even matter if im getting a good a/d d/a converter?