The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
protools midi experts
Old 22nd May 2006
Lives for gear

protools midi experts

I am using protools midi for the first time in my life. Things are fine as far as the software is concerned, but my external units are behaving in a bizaar manner. Here is my setup. OSX 10.4.5 , Protools 7.1 cs5, g5 dual 2.5 powerpc, unitor mk 2 midi interface, mpc4000, yamaha motif es8. Here is the basic issue. If protools is off the mpc4000 works as it should. When I trigger the motif it plays only motif sounds (local is off on the motif). When I trigger samples in the mpc i only hear the samples. if I open up protools my midi control seems to take on a life of its own. If i play the keys on the motif it triggers the samples in the mpc and the motif at the same time. This is without a session open or anything. Is my protools midi setup screwed up or is it my audio midi setup? My only work around is to work on the mpc without protools open. I am very new to the protools midi world so any help would be much appreciated
Old 23rd May 2006
Gear Guru

it almost seems like its the audio midi setup.

how do you have the midi set up coming out of the computer? Is it just one out of the computer to sync the MPC, or is the whole rig midi to the computer?
Old 23rd May 2006
Gear Addict

What OS are you using. If OSX you need to setup the default through parameters under your Midi interface control. It's in applications / utilitys.
Old 23rd May 2006
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickrock305
it almost seems like its the audio midi setup.

how do you have the midi set up coming out of the computer? Is it just one out of the computer to sync the MPC, or is the whole rig midi to the computer?