The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
IS RECORDING TO TAPE LOUDER
Old 18th May 2006
Gear Nut

IS RECORDING TO TAPE LOUDER

Im a hip hop producer and everyone knows hip hop has to be loud. im havin trouble matchin the loudness to many of the producers i hear like dilla and neptunes. i compress the tracks and boost them as close to peak as i can without peaking. and in the end it still is noticably quieter.i was thinkin maybe recording to tape has a louder range. need some pointers exactly how to get them loud. thanks guys
Old 18th May 2006
Gear Maniac

four words....

Analog mix! then Mastering!
Old 18th May 2006
Lives for gear

So far...heres where Im at

ITB mix is decent, but passing thru some analog outboard never hurt anyone and then some clipping at the converter makes up for it immensely.

So far I have a dbx DDP which Im using for outboard mixing/mastering. But I also plan on grabbing a JoeMeek Compressor for some extra grab or flavor, however, I have peeped that multiple passes thru the DDP with different settings/presets, does still increase the volume even more WITHOUT distortion, if you pimp your mixes right.

Plus the sidechain eq is able to do ******** stuff like 800 hz hipass if you so please, which gives some really nice funky chunky bass with punchy mids, plus the TSE (Tape Saturation Emulation) is a nice added touch, however I may eventually stop using TSE, if I find that another compressor or Fatso type compressor/warmer replaces its warming smearing purpose.

Peep my post about the Tissue on the mic to hear some examples with the ddp on the mixdown! Not perfect, but for a 200 dollar piece of gear its damn good!