The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
What to buy next?
Old 10th May 2006
Here for the gear

What to buy next?

Hey everyone, I finally have some money on my hands and I want to buy something new to add my recording set up. I really have no idea what to buy, as I am pretty new to recording and just do casual recording with people. I have am Digi002 and a Studio Projects C1 mic. Thats it... so yea, help me out. I have about $1000. I record mainly rap and r&b vocals. Thanks in advance.
Old 10th May 2006
Lives for gear

Have a look at Tony's page! There you will find what to use or to have! Most of the stuff is much more expensive! But perhaps you will find used units, or something similar!

I would concentrate on the main things: To me you need real good outboard (PreAmp and compressor first). Then you should think about a better converter from Crane Sond or Benchmark (my Faves!) and a better Mic! I say that thinking your monitoring is very very good, isn't it?

Regards and good luck,

AndrewJ
Old 10th May 2006
Gear Addict

Here's what I would do:

1) Send your 002 to Black Lion Audio and get the full mod. Just read about this mod on other gearslutz threads... there's a lot of hype building. I had my Motu Traveller modded by them... Very, very happy!

2) Buy an SM7B. This is a Shure dynamic mic. I'm assuming you record at home - this takes the room out of the recording, and will give you great results for hip-hop.

3) Read about DIY acoustic treatment for your studio space (bedroom???). This can be done on the cheap if you DIY. Don't be lazy wasting money on acoustic foam!!!

4) Start saving for decent studio monitors and a killer pre-amp.

Obviously there's a million ways to spend a grand, but I think this is a good approach. Probably not the most exciting if you've go your heart set on something new and shiney, but don't let flashing blue lights and marketing hype get the better of you.

Cheers - Rez
Old 10th May 2006
Gear Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewj