The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Smoke and Mirror Studios
Old 9th May 2006
Gear Addict

Smoke and Mirror Studios

I run a studio in Atlanta that pretty much caters to Hip-Hop and R&B.....as an experienced engineer I commonly go out to other studios....sometimes to engineer, most to help troubleshoot or help somebody with their set-up.... One thing I've noticed in alot of set-ups (mine inclusive) is how much of the set-ups are smoke and mirror... I'll use my studio for example.... Alot of people walk in and are impressed with the console, the racks, the desk,etc.

Now when I actually step back and look at it I realize that a majority of the equipment is just sitting there looking good....really has no use...I mean, hell, I haven't used ADAT's in about five years...but there are three of them racked...I have 3 DAT machines that serve no purpose.... Now 10 years ago this wasn't the case.... You needed those ADATs to multitrack to...you needed those DAT machines to make your 2 track mixes from.... Now a days, most everything I do is ITB.... When I get clients that come in and saw "Wow, how long did it take you to get all this equipment" or "I want to have a set up like this." I always shoot from the hip.... I think sometimes I'm actually discouraging them from working in my studio (lol) I tell them "you don't need all of this.... all you need is a good mic, decent pre-amp and a computer." The Control 24 is nothing more than a glorified mouse (and boy does it look good in Vegas Mode)
Even alot of production these days is done in the box.... It's nice to have MPC's, Tritons, Motifs, etc..... but most of my clients who are doing production are working on things like Reason...even Fruity Loops....