The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Beat out of the MPC's stereo out : sounds good!!! tracked in pro tools : not so good Audio Interfaces
Old 9th May 2006
Gear Addict

Beat out of the MPC's stereo out : sounds good!!! tracked in pro tools : not so good

yeah so I'm having this problem I just noticed.. I was working on a beat on the mpc earlier today. Thought it sounded good so I started tracking it track by track into protools (mpc -> Radial JDI -> Neve 1073 -> Fatso -> UA2192 -> PT LE)

Then ? Guess what, the beat didn't sound that good anymore. I started playing with a few plug-ins but the sound was just more clean and cold, not 'glued' like it was from the 2outs of the MPC. Any of you ever noticed something like that ?

When I was making the beat, I was monitoring from PT, with an AUX, so the sound was already going thru my preamps and converters. So I guess it's just Pro Tools' summing that really sucks ? It's not even a digital/analog summing issue, as the mpc is digital and -apparently- its summing sounds way better than pro tools' . (btw I'm talking about a 3000) What should I do ? spend my money on Analog Chanel ? I've tried it a while ago and wasn't convinced, so I can't demo it again, and actually I find it a bit too expensive so I don't know.
Old 9th May 2006
no ssl yet
I'll bite.

How loud a signal are you tracking? If you are tracking with conservative levels this won't apply as much, but I've found in testing different versions of clipping converters vs clipping digitally etc...

Loud signals on aux tracks seem to not distort as quickly as loud signals on audio tracks

I cant explain it or give reason for it, it's just what I observed.

You should be using proper gainstaging anyway and if you are again, disregard all of my babble
Old 9th May 2006
Gear Addict