The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Signal chain w/ plug-in fx. Need Advice
Old 7th May 2006
Gear Nut

Signal chain w/ plug-in fx. Need Advice

Hey guys- I have all the synths I need and now I want to set-up the best "bang for the buck" signal chain and plugin tool box I can get to process and record vocals. I will never need more than one 1 mic input at a time so hopefully that helps.

I'm a basement producer so acoustically I do not have the best set-up anyways, so HIGH LEVEL mics and pre's are not on my horizon. I just want to get the best sound I can get at the best price point.

My budget is around 1500 for both Mic and pre but if something is half the price and sounds almost as good, or more than that but sounds twice as good, I'm willing to go either route. I've heard really good things about FMR awhile back and studio projects mics. I have a AT4033 now and I wonder how that stacks up to the newer crop of mics in that price range.

Now as far as plugs go , I not only want to record but process and master my tracks as well. I do not work with clients so I have no one to please but myself.

I know I need a compressor, eq, limiter, reverb/fx and mastering/channel strip type plug, but is there anything else I should look into? Im looking at the Sonalkiss, PSP audio, URS, Wave Arts, & Elemental Audio plugs. I'm on a MAC in OSX tiger for my computer.

Any and ALL help is very much appreciated!! THANKS SO MUCH!!!
Old 8th May 2006

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdm71
Hey guys- I have all the synths I need and now I want to set-up the best "bang for the buck" signal chain and plugin tool box I can get to process and record vocals. I will never need more than one 1 mic input at a time so hopefully that helps.

I'm a basement producer so acoustically I do not have the best set-up anyways, so HIGH LEVEL mics and pre's are not on my horizon. I just want to get the best sound I can get at the best price point.