The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Rap Mixing & Recording Help + Templates + Songs For You To Listen For My Mixing Needs Audio Interfaces
Old 13th September 2011
Here for the gear

Rap Mixing & Recording Help + Templates + Songs For You To Listen For My Mixing Needs

First before I start, feel free to be a DICK and stomp all on my thread. lol + I'm pretty sure there is about HUNDREDS of these questions in this thread, but I thought it will be easier If a few people will reply directly to me.

I am a Producer / Engineer at my own home studio. I Engineer a few artists, and I'm pretty good at Mixing for being 18 (I Think), and learning all by hand. I know it takes years to MASTER MIXING.

I just have a few questions.

I am currently RECORDING a artists "Rap" mixtape, and I was trying to get some tips on Recording & Mastering to make everything as perfect as I can. I am currently using all "Stock" plugins - FAIL #1 I know - I will buy plugins when I can afford them soon.

--- How can I make a Vocal Track sound perfect? ---

I am using a Steinburg ST55 Mic w/ Pop Filter inside a garage, sort of sound treated, not quite.

I am recording into a M-Box Mini - 3rd Gen

I have the input at about 11:00 - (Towards The 11 Hand On The Clock)

I have a template I use - with Reverb / Delays already set up

I have a Compresser on each track - Preset is "Vocal Comp"
& I have a EQ on each track - Preset is "Smooth Vocal"

Does all this sound RIGHT or WRONG?

--- Do you guys have some template you can share with stock plugins, or will be able to take your time out of the day to put one together for me and show me how you use yours--- Really would appreciate that

---I am mixing all songs in Ultrasone HFI-550 headphones.---

I then take it out to the car, "Nissian Altima" with stock radio to hear how the mix sounds.