The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Preamp and Mic Questions for HipHop Producers Single-Channel Preamps
Old 10th September 2011
Here for the gear

Preamp and Mic Questions for HipHop Producers

Hey guys, this is my first post, im hoping some of you can help me out. I have a project studio in my home that i have been recording hiphop here for about 4 months and its going great. About 4 months ago i ugraded from pro tools 8 to 9, which enabled me to use a non digidesign peice of hardware, so i chose the makie onyx 820i. i loveeee it, but i think im ready to move on to a couple of higher quality additions.

I have my heart set on a TLM 103, but im having some difficulty picking a preamp. in my searching i have seen many positive reviews for the blue robbie. Other contenders are the True Systems P-Solo, grace designs m101, the universal audio solo/610, and the great river ME-1NV.

I would appreciate any and all insight into these preamps. thanks guys.
Old 10th September 2011
The info and opinions on these preamps are already here. Just do a forum search, or search google using the preamp name along with "gearslutz."
Old 10th September 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bender412 View Post
The info and opinions on these preamps are already here. Just do a forum search, or search google using the preamp name along with "gearslutz."
+1 on that !!!
Old 17th September 2011
Gear Maniac

Think outside the box...

There are manufacturers out there that offer better products for a comparable price or less. Advanced Audio Microphones ( http:/www.aamicrophones.com/ ) is one of them. Your courage to invest into something other than what The Joneses are raving about will be amply rewarded. Just read reviews and decide yourself.
Same for the preamp.
Old 23rd September 2011
Here for the gear