The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Triggering new drums
Old 24th February 2011
Gear Maniac

Triggering new drums

What's up..I got a quick question for all of you. I'm somewhat new to this set up.

I'm fixing up some old tracks in sound forge, and I ran into a weak ass kick drum. I wanted to replace it. I'd rather not have to paste a new kick across the track. I thought I could trigger the new kick somehow, with what i got.

Here's what I'm working with:

Acid 7
SF 10
Guru
Sonivox Sampla
Oxygen 8 and a buch of plugs....

Thanks for any advice!
Old 24th February 2011
Gear Head

Is it a MIDI kick you're talking about? If so find a way to copy the MIDI sequence you built and then paste it into a new MIDI track with your new kick...I'm not familiar with the DAW you're using but many of them just let you drag and drop different sounds to swap them out without having to redo the sequence
Old 24th February 2011
Gear Maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obleezy View Post
Is it a MIDI kick you're talking about? If so find a way to copy the MIDI sequence you built and then paste it into a new MIDI track with your new kick...I'm not familiar with the DAW you're using but many of them just let you drag and drop different sounds to swap them out without having to redo the sequence
right. I'm talking about an old finished song. All I have is the 2-track master.
Old 24th February 2011
Gear Maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by profplume View Post
right. I'm talking about an old finished song. All I have is the 2-track master.
You can't replace it in the 2-track master, it's impossible. What you can do is add it manually. There's no other way around it.

You could try low-passing the track at 100Hz or so and feeding it to a plug-in like sound replacer, trigger, drumagog, etc, but I seriously doubt it would work.

Good luck
Old 17th March 2011
Gear Head

Quote:
Originally Posted by profplume View Post