The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
looking for that goold old school sound Drum Machines & Samplers
Old 1st January 2011
Here for the gear

looking for that goold old school sound

Hi everyone,

i'm new to the forums, i fairly new to making beats on a computer (i'm a classic drummer and bass player)

recently i bought a macpro and have been saving up to buy some recording software, i already have a synth (roland- xp 80) witch i could also use as midi keyboard.

I'm looking to buy some really good drum computer software, i was reading around a bit and allot of people seem to go with "battery - native instruments" the sound i want is those really old-school fat drum sounds (i'm thinking E-mu SP 1200 , juice crew, marly marl, eric b & rakim -paid in full era type of sound, enter the wu) Is Battery capable of producing these kind of kicks, snares...etc

What software would you guys recommend -

i appreciate all of the tips and help guys!

have a happy newyear all
Old 1st January 2011
Gear Addict

buy an sp1200. u can get the sounds but will never simulate the workflow
Old 1st January 2011
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonusbmusic View Post
buy an sp1200. u can get the sounds but will never simulate the workflow
hi, i did actually think about buying the sp1200 but where i live they are verry hard to find, and the ones that are up for sale have a major price tag on them, not in my budget league. I'm afraid buying the SP1200 is not an option...
Old 1st January 2011
T1M
Gear Maniac

its more about the samples you use than the software you use to create your tunes with. a chopped up amen break sounds damn near identical regardless of what you used to cut it up.
Old 1st January 2011
g22
Lives for gear