The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
What is your pro tools mixing template? Dynamics Plugins
Old 29th December 2010
Lives for gear

What is your pro tools mixing template?

I am fairly new to pro tools since I was mostly an FL/Cubase head my entire life, but decided to jump to pro tools since its industry standard. I don't know to much about bussing and what not, but what is your template like when you mix a song? My session looks simple like this:

Anyway I can set this up to benefit me and enhance my work flow? Thank you for your time!

PS. Dont flame me for having so many eqs on one track, i am fairly new to mixing also. Any books/videos that can help me on this?
Old 29th December 2010
Lives for gear
You should set up Aux Sends for your reverbs. Create a new Stereo Aux Track, place the reverb on the insert of that track, then set the input to say bus 1-2. In whatever tracks you want to go to the reverb choose bus 1-2 as a Send and adjust the amount you want.

Any time based effects such as reverb, delay, chorus, etc.. should generally be placed on Aux Tracks with sends going to them so you can blend in the effect amount with the dry track.
Old 30th December 2010
Gear Guru

First thing...name your damn tracks!

Second thing, WOW thats a lot of EQs! Learn to get more with less!

Third, I personally setup Aux tracks for subgroups and FX. My routing gets way complicated though.
Old 30th December 2010
+1 ,yea 5 to 6 EQ's per track is not needed in 99.999% of cases

I would say learn your tools more, like how Eq effects certain tracks/instruments in relation to your mix, as everything is relative and nothing is set in stone in regards to settings.

Every song that gets mixed will need different EQ settings and different things done to it, in order for that mix to shine.