The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
methods to get that full sound/ mix Multi-Ef­fects Plugins
Old 28th December 2010
Here for the gear

methods to get that full sound/ mix

noticed there were no threads on this and i was curious.
i know there's no foolproof method, but how do you get there?
please be specific as possible.

i'm fairly new to this, but i after compressing on the master buss, i eq a high shelf starting at 2 khz of about 6 db gain before putting the limiter/ soft clipper.
too extreme?
Old 28th December 2010
Gear Maniac

Yea its extreme because that not how you get the full sound mix. The key is eq. You have to use your ears to see if there is instruments clashing. You have to give the instruments a place to shine in their own space. For instance you might have a synth in the hi mid range that clashes with the vocal. What you do is find the freq. where it is clashing and a cut a some db off of that. Use your pan pots too. Do not have everything in the center. Then after you accomplish that you can put "the icing on the cake" and apply eq on the master bus. Put compression on individual tracks when needed to tame peaks and control how the instrument "breaths".

What really helped my understand this concept is the book "The Art of Mixing". It visually shows you what a mix might look like. It is on dvd also so you should peep it out; highly recommended.
Old 28th December 2010
Lives for gear

Watch :

Mix It Like A Record.

And if you haven´t found threads on mixing you didn't do a proper search.
Old 28th December 2010
Gear Maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by piccazzo View Post
Watch :

Mix It Like A Record.

And if you haven´t found threads on mixing you didn't do a proper search.
Indeed.
Old 28th December 2010
Gear Head