The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Cost of production? Condenser Microphones
Old 16th December 2010
Here for the gear

Cost of production?

Hi, I've been doing a lot of recording for other people lately and I was wondering, what are people charging to have other people record in their studios? I have limited equipment, a tube mic, mbox 2 pro, lots of VI's and plugin's, nice macbook, PT9, and obtain some really professional sounding stuff. I'm no pro, but I kind of want to be making some money on this. What's the price?
Old 16th December 2010
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenassaproject View Post
Hi, I've been doing a lot of recording for other people lately and I was wondering, what are people charging to have other people record in their studios? I have limited equipment, a tube mic, mbox 2 pro, lots of VI's and plugin's, nice macbook, PT9, and obtain some really professional sounding stuff. I'm no pro, but I kind of want to be making some money on this. What's the price?
You dont have a "studio"
Wait till you amass some gear and then if you are good at engineering maybe you can charge about $20.00 an hour,if that.

These days depending on the studio and the engineer,anywhere from 40-80 dollars per hour and up.
Old 16th December 2010
Lives for gear

What ever you can get. I'd start low while you learn and obtain better gear as you start to get paid for it. As you learn more, give yourself a raise! You are also talking about two different things here. Production and Recording. If you're production is great with that set up, you may get good money for the track. However, I'm not going to pay you top dollar to come record through your mbox.
Old 16th December 2010
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by phillysoulman View Post
You dont have a "studio"