The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Is it the effects that make this song so clear or is it an expensive mic ? Plz help DAW Software
Old 15th December 2010
Here for the gear

Is it the effects that make this song so clear or is it an expensive mic ? Plz help

Im new to this so sorry if this is an obvious question to all the experienced ppl on here but ive tryed everything an all different type of effects and still cant get crystal clear vocals like in this song below my vocals seem kinda muddy and just not as clear i got my vocals somewhat clear but still not to the extent of this track could someone point me in the right direction any advice is appreciated and by the way im using a mxl 2006 mic with tascam us-122ii and again somebody plz let me no whats wrong

link to the song tryna get clear vocals like this

Download mp3
Old 15th December 2010
Lives for gear
This stuff is layered with a little reverb, sounds like it recorded on some decent equipment, impossible to tell you what gear. The beat is minimalistic and the vocals are a little loud which would make it sound clearer...
Old 15th December 2010
Here for the gear

thanks i appreciate your response im gonna try out your tips and see if that helps but it just seems like no matter what i try it still sounds a little muddy i think a better mic might help but im not sure ive been tryna get clear vocals like this for the longest but nothing works
Old 15th December 2010
Here for the gear

Just got done seeing what i could do to make it clearer still no luck and on another note it seems like my vocals are clearer when i record in mixcraft and muddy when i work in cubase idk why because i know cubase is way better than mixcraft something just dosnt seem rite
Old 15th December 2010
Here for the gear

what effects are you using?
Old 15th December 2010
Here for the gear

Spitfish cheap condensor mic