The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Should I buy Autotune Evo or Autotune Vocal Studio w/ EVO & AVOX? Pitch & Harmony Plugins
Old 17th November 2009
Gear Head

Should I buy Autotune Evo or Autotune Vocal Studio w/ EVO & AVOX?

I'm not an engineer, I'm a recording artist looking to buy plugins to use when I go to different studios, so I'm not as knowledgeable about all these products as the rest of you.

I have melodyne, and a very basic autotune but I want for effects going on so I'm going to buy Autotune EVO. But, I'm wondering if I should spend about 150 more and buy Autotune Vocal Studio which includes evo and AVOX.

Avox seems to have some neat features but not many talk about it so I'm not sure if it's worth it or if I'd be fine with just EVO. And this investment isn't going into a studio business, so I can't just throw around money like nothing.

Thoughts? THanks in advance for the help.
Old 17th November 2009
Gear Head

You should absitively, posolutely NOT use autotune.

my 2c

what do you want it for? t-pain style electro-vox that are all the rage these days? or do you just want to do some slight pitch correction for singing parts? or is it some other function of autotune that i don't know about?
Old 18th November 2009
Gear Head

I'm not going to T-pain... But I'm going for special effects and stuff that we're trying to develop on our own (me and the engineer).

I'm not jumping on the t-pain thing, that's stupid. But, we're looking for something good for making good vocals. Similar to Jason Derulo in whatcha say. He has a nice autotune effect on it that's not stupid like tpains.
Old 28th January 2010
I'm selling my rack autotuner and wouldn't mind replacing it with the plug. I'll be using it for both pitch correction and on occasion, the cher effect. Which is the best version to grab.