The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
What equipement should I buy (mainly keyboard) ?
Old 17th November 2009
What equipement should I buy (mainly keyboard) ?

Hello, I am a new but driven hip hop composer and I want to get really good, but I need some help. I am just starting out and I'm not to familiar with which equipment is good for hip hop.

- I'm interested in producing beats somewhere along the lines of dre/eminem
- I'm using FL studio and am experimenting with Ableton Live
- At the moment I'm using a crappy little M audio Oxygen 16 key keyboard (it can only take me so far =/ ) but my computer/speakers are top of the line
- A decent 200$ mic, will upgrade eventually (audiotechnica maybe?)

What keyboard should I get? I want to spend somewhere in the 600 - 800 dollar range for one. I was thinking about to get a *used* Korg M50 because I heard it is good but I don't really have any insight as to whether it's good for what I want to do or not.

Also is there any other equipment I should consider getting? And what kind of sounds should I download/buy? I have Cakewalk Dimension pro, but that's not really what I'm looking for (and half of them don't even work).

These are the kind on instrumentals I would like to compose:

YouTube - Eminem- rock bottom
YouTube - Dr. Dre - Detox - If I Get Locked Up Tonight (Feat.Eminem)

I've been playing piano for 10 years and have done theory. I'm familiar with how to compose music, but am completely new to how to make electronic beats. Any other information anyone could give me would be extremely helpful.

Thanks for the help
Old 17th November 2009
Lives for gear