The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Mix-Tape - Mixing issue...
Old 12th November 2009
Lives for gear

Mix-Tape - Mixing issue...

So I am mainly a rock producer/mixer but I have been doing a lot of Hip-Hop lately, which I love, but clients keep coming in with poor sounding beats, and rips from the internet and want me to make mix-tapes with them rappin all over the different backing tracks.

Is there a certain way you deal with all the volume/loudness/crappy sounding fluctuation between all the backing tracks. I need all the backings to be solid.
Old 12th November 2009
Lives for gear

https://www.gearslutz.com/board/rap-h...pe-mixing.html

Volume fluctuations? Good compression I suppose; automation if it's real bad. Or you can craft some of the terrible sounding stuff into the beat itself (automate drops or slap filter + fx automation over the whole track if it's a 2track). Creatively try and sculpt the weaknesses into the song would be my suggestion. See if the artists are willing to let you layer other sounds over it (transition sound fx etc), it's probably not even worth arguing over production credits (whatever small %) because a good mix will strengthen your reputation. Splitting a 2-track into different frequency bands, and treating them differently might be worth trying.
Old 12th November 2009
Lives for gear

My suggestion is do a quick clean up on the vocals, turn the beat down to where it matches best - limit up if need be - call it a day. Mixtape work is supposed to be cheap, not great.
Old 12th November 2009
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaves666 View Post
So I am mainly a rock producer/mixer but I have been doing a lot of Hip-Hop lately, which I love, but clients keep coming in with poor sounding beats, and rips from the internet and want me to make mix-tapes with them rappin all over the different backing tracks.