The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Pre amp advice around 300 bucks
Old 29th June 2009
Gear Head

Pre amp advice around 300 bucks

YEAH IM A RAP/HIP HOP ARTIST TRYING TO SETUP HOME STUDIO ON A BUDGET AND IM LOOKING FOR A NICE PREAMP FOR JUST VOCALS WITH A AUDIO TECHNICA 4040 MIC .. I HAVE BEEN LOOKING AT THESE THREE PRE'S I SHOULD SAY CHANNEL STRIPS ANY ADVICE WILL BE APPRECIATED.

ART Pro Channel Tube Mic Preamp

PreSonus Studio Channel Tube Channel Strip

Focusrite TrakMaster Pro Channel Strip

I HAVE BEEN REALLY LOOKING CLOSELY AT THESE 3 BUT WILL GLAD APPRECIATE OTHER PREAMPS RECCOMENDED..
Old 29th June 2009
RTR
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by samtownhustler View Post
YEAH IM A RAP/HIP HOP ARTIST TRYING TO SETUP HOME STUDIO ON A BUDGET AND IM LOOKING FOR A NICE PREAMP FOR JUST VOCALS WITH A AUDIO TECHNICA 4040 MIC .. I HAVE BEEN LOOKING AT THESE THREE PRE'S I SHOULD SAY CHANNEL STRIPS ANY ADVICE WILL BE APPRECIATED.

ART Pro Channel Tube Mic Preamp

PreSonus Studio Channel Tube Channel Strip

Focusrite TrakMaster Pro Channel Strip

I HAVE BEEN REALLY LOOKING CLOSELY AT THESE 3 BUT WILL GLAD APPRECIATE OTHER PREAMPS RECCOMENDED..
Well, One that you should have on your list is the ART TUBE PAC, It gets great reviews, good preamp/compressor..I should mine for 80 bucks a while ago!! Don't let the price fool ya..I have 3 "over $1,000.00 pre's" and the tube pac holds it's own.
Old 29th June 2009
Lives for gear

For 300$ check this out

For 300$, check this out, you won't go wrong with that:

Golden Age Project

GOod luck!

Cheeeeeeeeeers!
Old 1st July 2009
Lives for gear

just got the art pro mpa (Analog not digital out)
Cost $124 out the door in like new shape. In fact is it new?
Old 1st July 2009
Lives for gear

Since the 4040 is a pretty neutral mic, id say for another 95 bills, try to grab an auteur. Then ull have 2 channels, in case you decide to track some stereo things as well.