The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
For all the bass players involved in Hip-hop / R&B : how many strings?
Old 27th August 2008
Gear Maniac

For all the bass players involved in Hip-hop / R&B : how many strings?

Hello everybody,

since we have a few (bass) guitar players who regularly participate to the Rap/Hip-hop forum here on gs, I'd like to use the opportunity to ask:

1) What are your preferences as far as bass guitars are concerned when it comes to Hip-hop and R&B :

4-string? 5-string? More?!

Why more than 4-strings (if it is your preference for the said music genres) ?

2) As a total beginner, I am about to buy my first bass (Schecter Stiletto Deluxe or Schecter Stiletto Custom / Studio ?) : should I better go for a 4-string model during my first years of learning and then go for a 5-string model (which are supposed to be better suited for Hip-hop)?

Or should I directly start with a 5-string bass? Will it not be an obstacle while learning how to play?

3) Lastly: are they other things that I should pay particular attention to, when buying a bass guitar that is intented for "Hip-hop" (a la Dr. Dre) or "New R&B" (a la R. Kelly, Jodeci, ...).

As always: your help is very much appreciated

AP
Old 27th August 2008
Gear Maniac

Oh, and while I'm at it:

Can anybody identify the bass guitar, which is played during the first 30 seconds of the following Dr. Dre / Eminem appearance at Farmclub:

Is that Mike Elizondo? Encore Studios or Record One? In any case, the baseline simply sounds FAT: there's no better words to describe it. Hip hop at its best.
Old 27th August 2008

the bass in the first second or so looks like a gibson (4 string)

Buy Gibson SG Reissue 4-String Bass online at Musician's Friend