The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Beginner Needs Help Picking Mic Preamp Dynamic Microphones
Old 3rd August 2008
Gear Head

Beginner Needs Help Picking Mic Preamp

Hey all. I am fairly new to hip hop and started recording and writing about 1 month ago. Right now, for my gear I am limiting myself to around $600. I was planning on buying a cheaper condenser so I have more money for the Pre as many say a better pre is a better investment.

I was considering the following:

Mics:

AT3035 (heard it sounds good for hip hop, 119 brand new!)
AT4040 (100 more than 3035, not sure if its justified.
-Suggestions on others?

Preamps:

ART MPA Gold - ART MPA Gold Microphone Preamplifier from zZounds.com!
GT Brick -
Mackie 802-VLZ3 (Mixer) - Mackie 802-VLZ3 | Sweetwater.com
Mackie 1202-VLZ3 - Mackie 1202-VLZ3 | Sweetwater.com
Allen and Heath ZED14 Mixer with USB Interface - Allen and Heath ZED14 Mixer with USB Interface from zZounds.com!

Questions:

1) Will mixers such as these, work as good as the preamps? I was hoping to get something that has more than one use.

2) I am a noob, so I dont know about cables. I need XLR mic cables to go from mix to pre right. What do I need to go from pre to computer?

I am recording in a non cure room.

Let me know, I am open to other suggestions as well.
Old 3rd August 2008
Gear Addict

Mic

I use an AT4040 with a Focusrite Trakmaster Pro and I love the combo. I would personally stay away from the ART pre as it is built like crap.

You can hear how an AT 4040 and Focusrite sounds by listening to any of my tracks:

MC Celtic/Black Irish Productions
Old 3rd August 2008
Gear Maniac

Fist off I would suggest using the search engine because alot of what your asking could be found there.