The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Ken Lewis Interview
Old 22nd July 2008

Ken Lewis Interview

Part I

Introduce yourself and give a brief rundown of your professional resume

I'm Ken Lewis and I'm a part of a production team called The Skywalkers. I'm also a mix engineer, songwriter, musician, vocalist you name it and I can do it. I've done a lot of work with Kanye West including hits songs like ‘Gold Digger' and ‘All Fall Down' as well as ‘Never Let You Down'. I've done additional mixing for Kanye as well as produced for John Legend. I also mixed back to back no#1 album's in the country with Danity Kane and Day 26; 5 songs on each album. I have 6 Grammy Awards and a total of 29 nominations, 46 Gold and Platinum records and 24 no#1 album's.

Congratulations on all of your success

So far so good and I want a whole lot more, double those numbers and then I will be happy.

Where are you from originally?

Born and raised just outside of Cincinnati Ohio, came to New York in 1993 and I've been here ever since.

Did you move to New York with the intention of gaining success in the business or was it a personal move?

It was a very single minded goal of moving from Cincinnati to New York so I can make it in the music business. I saved up every penny I could before I moved and after I paid first and last month rent I had 10 cent left to my name. I got a job to keep me going and eventually landed an studio internship and worked my way up to assistant and then eventually engineer and then started producing. Somehow I figured out a way to make it all come together and work.

What made you decide to venture into the creative sector of the music business?