The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
How NOT to land an internship Reverb/Delay Processors (HW)
Old 10th September 2007
Lives for gear

How NOT to land an internship

I try not to rant much, but there are probably enough of you reading these boards to hopefully take some benefit from this. HOW NOT TO LAND AN INTERNSHIP.

I honestly dont know what on Earth some guys are thinking when they approach me trying to get internships. This type of approach has become such a common occurance that i think it should be addressed here. I just got this email. This is very typical of the approach most guys use when asking me for internships. here's the email, some info has been changed to protect the sender......
Hey whats going on.....i graduated from [who cares audio school] in 06 and now im currently interning @ [big major label] Records And i have been there for 1 year.....But as I see that i love the Admin side of things in music i also have a passion for the studio work.....im deciated to just learning from someone with knowlegde....so i was wondering if i could grab a little internship from you ????

This is the ENTIRE email. let me point out a few things.

- he did not address me by name
- he did not even give his own name!!!!!!! Who the hell am i hiring????
- he's speaking to me like we're old friends instead of with the professionality of an employer employee relationship
- his grammar is horrendous
- he provides no resume
- he provides no references
- he provides no contact info
- he tells me why it would be a good internship for him "i'm dedicated to just learning from someone with knowledge", but gives me absolutely no reason why it would be a good deal for me. "i'm a hard worker", "i make great coffee and run errands faster than fed ex", nothing.