The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Recommended VST Compressors Dynamics Plugins
Old 1st September 2007
Gear Head

Recommended VST Compressors

Hi Gear heads, I have never used a compressor before on my beats but I would like to start experimenting with compression of my kick drums and snares, and vocals and such. I have searched this site for software compressors for some comparabilites, and would still like to ask others opinions on what VST compressors they use, when making rap beats.
I have researched the Voxengo Crunchessor, Voxengo Elephant, The Sonalksis CQ1, and the Otium Compadre. Anybody care to share their opinions on these? Thanks! I appreciate anyone who bothers to take the time to read this.
Old 1st September 2007
Lives for gear

i havent tried any of the compressors your mentioned. :-)

but i have just bought the sonalksis sv-315mkII
sounds good, is low on cpu, like it.
Old 2nd September 2007
Lives for gear

i use URS comps, UAD-1 comps and Sonalksis comps. Some Waves too.
Old 2nd September 2007
Gear Head

Out of the ones you have mentioned, "Crunchessor" is by far my favorite(Elephant is a limiter btw). It's incredibly flexible despite its extremely simple interface. It offers several modes for its envelopes which I have all found very useful depending on the situation. It also comes with various "coloring" modes.
You can also sidechain another signal than the one on the insert to it(it depends on the routing capabilities of your sequencer but there are work-arounds for most of them).

It is also extremely cheap, like most Voxengo comps.
Old 2nd September 2007
Gear Nut

Uad1 1176LN, La2a, la3a

Waves Rvox
Old 2nd September 2007
jje
Gear Nut

If you're looking at Voxengo, don't forget the Marquis Compressor. And yes, Elephant is a limiter.
Old 2nd September 2007
Here for the gear