The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Stereo pitch shift on hooks PTLE Reverb/Delay Processors (HW)
Old 23rd August 2007
Lives for gear

Stereo pitch shift on hooks PTLE

Hello,
I'm a assitant engineer at a local studio here in central FL.

I did a tracking & mixing session for a group of local rappers and they've now commisioned my service for use at their home studio to try and save themselves some money. Rather than the $60/hr rate at the studio they're paying my $25/hr to work w/ them at their home.

They do have a pretty decent setup.

PTLE 7.3 , digi 002
Avalon 737
RODE NTK

bascially no plugins besides the digirack stuff and a few others i beleive came bundled w/ their system.. I saw some joemeek stuff(crap) and some McDSP LE stuff(filterbank le, ac1,compressorbank, etc.), as well as a mogo delay.

Anyways, at the studio(where i work), i mixed a song for them using a chamillionare track they brought in for reference. In his hooks where he's "singing" you can hear what appears to be a stereo pitch shift + fast delay.. maybe -6 +6 on each side. Warms the "singing" up really nice.

I recreated this very well by bussing the chorus vocal to a eventide eclipse w/ the magic air preset.

I'm wondering how to get a similar effect at their home setup. I know the digirack pitch shift sounds like utter crap, but thats all i have to work with.

I'm thinking copy the original hook onto two other tracks, maybe shift them up/down +6,-6 .. pan them around >20 <20 and leave the original around center at >5 .. then buss the pitchshifted tracks to a thick plate verb w/ some predelay and bus them to a fast stereo delay (20ms or so) also, panning the sends as well ?