The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
my mic, and the vocals that are recorded by it. Audio Interfaces
Old 21st August 2007
Here for the gear

my mic, and the vocals that are recorded by it.

first and foremost; my 'setup' is no milliondollar recording studio. im no engineer, jus a 18 year old beat maker who owns a microphone. all i got is a akg perception 100, a tube mp preamp, and an audiophile usb..

now let me be blunt. the quality is buns. i need help. if someone wants to analyze a acapella verse (courtesy of my older brother) and help me figure out how to my quality sound better, (be it best equilization settings, compression settings, all that fancy stuff) or even redirect me to some tutorials online, itd be really appreciated. and also if u could explain the basics of recording (ie, how far the vocalist should be from the mic, how vocals are blended into the beat) i jus wanna make good quality music! and im sure yall understand! and prolly been where im at!

zSHARE - track 8 recording 1.mp3
Old 22nd August 2007
Gear Maniac

where are you recording at? too close to the mic, too loud
Old 22nd August 2007
Gear Nut

Good things to read

These articles are well written and will help you get
started:

Recording Vocals In The Computer Studio

Recording Lead Vocals

Vocal Recording & Production Masterclass

Top Engineers on Recording Rich Vocals

Good luck!
Old 22nd August 2007
Gear Addict

From the reviews I've read, it sounds like owners of that mic are quite happy with it. I say that because I was going to suggest a better mic, but it may not be the problem.
It sounds like the mic might not be positioned correctly. Like maybe you're singing off axis, and not into the front of the mic.
Also, it sounds like you're running the input of your tube mp too hot. There's distortion when you emphasize words (like, "prove" and "move").