The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Personal Recording Studio Question
Old 3 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Personal Recording Studio Question

What's good everyone?
I'm building a personal recording studio and am looking for advice. While I am not a novice, I still have much to learn. Below I have listed the hardware, software and treatment. I'm wondering if anyone has a similar set up or can offer advice how to maximize to full potential? - Or if I need to add any additional pieces to my set up?

UA Apollo Twin
Avalon-VT 737 Tube Preamp (Main plug-in while recording)
Nuemann TLM 49
Yamaha HS8 Monitors
DAWS: Pro Tools and Waves Diamond Bundle

The control room will be treated with bass traps, wedge foam and sound panels.
The vocal booth will be treated with the Auralex Roominator Kit and sound panels.
Both the control room and vocal booth will have heavy rugs.

- Thank you
Old 3 weeks ago
Lives for gear
That all looks fine. Spend the effort researching room treatment - that's where people typically fall short. You can make great records in horrible rooms, but it is definitely easier in a good room. I would suggest you build ALL of your room treatment DIY. It is VERY easy to outperform the vast majority of stuff out on the market for 1/20th of the price. And it pays to learn exactly what you need to build, where to put it, etc. Huge difference.
Old 3 weeks ago
Gear Addict

Adding the HS8S sub to your HS8 monitors will improve your monitoring system extremely. There’s a setting on the sub that will(or not) cut anything below 80-100-120hz from being sent to your HS8 monitors which frees up your monitors from doing all that heavy lifting(allows for achieving better mixes imo).

Adding the HS8S sub to your HS8 monitors makes your setup feel like you upgraded to brand new monitors and not just a sub, for real.

Also getting sub treatment/pad for the sub to sit on also helps.
Old 3 weeks ago
Lives for gear

it looks like a good setup.