The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Audio Engineering
Old 2nd October 2019
Here for the gear

Audio Engineering

Hello everyone
I need a little bit of help here please. I'm still learning the dos and don'ts of Mixubg Process.
My problem might not be a problem but I should ask anyways. Everytime I record a song on an already made instrumental, I spend hours on the mixing and it all sounds perfect. Lyrics are good. Etc. But whenever I go back to thesame mix, few hours later, it sounds ugly lol. Am I missing something? Or it's just me
Old 2nd October 2019
Lives for gear

That happens to a lot of people, regularly. Either you lose focus or your ears get tired. After you get more practice that will happen less. Also, pay attention to how loud you are mixing. If you are mixing really loud, it will sound bad when played back at less volume. Same thing if you mix too quietly.

Best thing to do is use a reference track. Import an audio file of a big commercial song, professionally mixed and mastered that has similar sounding elements to your track and keep it on mute in your session. Balance it's level to your mix so that when you unmute it, it matches the level you are getting from your mix.

Using a reference track from the early stage is great because it gives you a measure of how much bass, midrange and treble you should be aiming for.
Old 2nd October 2019
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerry123 View Post
That happens to a lot of people, regularly. Either you lose focus or your ears get tired. After you get more practice that will happen less. Also, pay attention to how loud you are mixing. If you are mixing really loud, it will sound bad when played back at less volume. Same thing if you mix too quietly.