The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
U87 Tracking - Compression on the way in
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

U87 Tracking - Compression on the way in

Just a hypothetical scenario. I’m new to outboard gear but I’m far from lost.

Say I’m tracking a U87 through a neve clone (1073/1272) and I have both an 1176 and LA-2A hardware compressors at my disposal.

First : Is there any difference in compressing the signal through both units before hitting the DAW and recording it straight to DAW and then sending it back out through the hardware and back into the DAW? If there is no difference than there is no reason someone learning like me shouldn’t just record straight to DAW first to ensure I have a clean file I didn’t potentially screw up by compressing on the way right?

Second: in order to get the type of coloration sought when recording through neve preamps how should I be driving the signal on the preamps as far as gain level and the output knobs are concerned and in a perfect world at what level should I be coming into the DAW at? And would this level be different if I chose to hit both comps on the way in?

Thanks so much in advance
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear
The cost is two conversions. If your conversion is good, then it will not matter.

The downside of compressing on the way in is that when you EQ, you are using that one a compressed signal. It sounds more natural to EQ before you compress. You gain more leverage over the signal by compressing first.

If you want to compress on the way in, sure, there is no problem with that. Just know what you are trading off. You gain color for commitment.

Compressing on the way in is a very common practice so that the color of the compressor is part of the track after your all in the box.