The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Using Auto-Tune and Real-Tune to Strengthen Raw Voice/Vocals
Old 10th May 2019
Here for the gear

Using Auto-Tune and Real-Tune to Strengthen Raw Voice/Vocals

I've been monitoring my vocals with auto-tune for about two years but always record dry and usually use melodyne and a combination of auto-tune afterwards - generally subtly when I start mixing.

I've been researching for months on this question I have and have found very little so your advice would be much appreciated.

I want to improve my voice so that I don't have to rely on auto-tune one day but am at a stage where I feel like I need to hear it so I can stay in key.

Would it be better to hear my monitored vocals 100% corrected or 50% or somewhere in-between?

Lately I've been monitoring going into waves real tune correction set on around 70% and then touching auto-tune with the low latency setting to get that top end silk.

I'm just not sure what the best route would be for what my goals are in trying to strengthen my raw voice and would like some second opinions - as I've continually experimented but doubt everything I do.

Thanks a million!
Old 11th May 2019
Lives for gear

Get as much practise as you can.

Go somewhere quite or even noisy with the seagulls at the beach.

Belt it out.

I would give yourself a bit of reverb if anything as your recording engineer one day would do the same.

Enough for you to hear but record your vocal dry.

Hope that helps as one ear needs to hear a backing track and the other ear needs to pitch.

Ear train or pitch your favorite artists because that is ear and pitch training then you wont need autotune.

Cheers
Old 11th May 2019
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickknack View Post
Get as much practise as you can.

Go somewhere quite or even noisy with the seagulls at the beach.

Belt it out.