The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Sidechain compression technique for hip hop
Old 11th March 2019
Here for the gear

Sidechain compression technique for hip hop

I'm new to hip hop productions but a fan since the 90s .
I make techno mainly but started to make hip hop instrumentals. My hip hop instrumentals are really piss poor when it comes to the mix . I'm using ableton live 10 standard and I'm after demo fabfilter eq and compressor. Could someone explain how they use side chain compression with their production please
Old 11th March 2019
Quote:
Originally Posted by lectropunk View Post
I'm new to hip hop productions but a fan since the 90s .
I make techno mainly but started to make hip hop instrumentals. My hip hop instrumentals are really piss poor when it comes to the mix . I'm using ableton live 10 standard and I'm after demo fabfilter eq and compressor. Could someone explain how they use side chain compression with their production please
One fairly common use of side chain compression in Hip Hop is for ducking the bass when the kick hits. Especially (and mostly) when the kick and bass share similar frequencies, like a subby bass and an 808 type of kick.
Old 11th March 2019
Lives for gear
I pretty much only use sidechain compression in two places:

1) vocal delays and reverbs.

2) once in a while a hip-hop record will call for some rhythmic pumping on a synth or something EDM-style.

I never use sidechain compression to get the kick and 808 to sit together.
Old 12th March 2019
Lives for gear