The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Best Set Up For Rap Vocals Gobo & Screen Panels
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

Best Set Up For Rap Vocals

Hello everyone,

It's been a while since I've been into the recording world (I haven't bought anything in 8 years).

I want to set up a little studio for rap vocals. I am a music manager, and my rapper needs to have the closest thing to professional, clean sounding vocals. Without going over board with price, but with also wanting quality sound what would you guys suggest?

From my research I thought we could get away with just an Appogge Duet and a Nueman TLM 103 mic. Would this be enough to get the job done? And just use the pre-amp from the duet?

OR would I need additional equipment, such as an additional pre-amp, or a compressor?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
Old 1 week ago
Make sure you acoustically treat the room before worrying about anything else.
Old 1 week ago
Gear Head

Duet and TLM103 are not a bad combination. But if you’re worried about professional sound, why not just spend the $1000 on studio time? If your talent is well rehearsed, that should be enough to record at least a few tracks.
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

The room is more important than anything to me. I have recorded on worse than that and had stellar results, and I attribute it to the room I built and really putting in the work to get it right. I now have an untreated spot, I wouldn't even call it a room, it's in part of a large room and it brings out the worst in my LDC.