The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Can't decide between Maschine MK3, MPC2500, or MPC Live
Old 20th March 2018
Gear Head

Can't decide between Maschine MK3, MPC2500, or MPC Live

I'm kind of new to this. I spent the last year doing more electronic music, with my DAW being FL Studio. I recently started to discover sampling, and that led me down the history of the MPC, and watching videos of people making beats on it, and the Maschine. I'm really interested in getting started with making beats using samples.

I've tried the whole FPC/SliceX workflow in FL Studio and to me it's pretty tedious. Honestly, I've never really been much of a keyboard and mouse person when it comes to recording music. I have a guitar background, been playing for 14 years, and up until about 2010, I used a Boss BR-864 digital 8 track recorder, no computer except for exporting the final mix.

So I've always been kind of more comfortable with a hardware unit. I've been looking into the Maschine MK3, MPC 2500 w/ JOS, and the MPC Live.

I want something hands on, which all of these provide, but it's a matter of asking myself if I want to be tied to a computer or not. I also should ask myself if I want something that is strictly for sampling, or that will give me the potential to use it for many other different styles of music.

A friend of mine said that I should probably get the maschine because it is newer tech, comes with a great library of sounds to get started, and would probably be much easier.

But I'm still not sure. Is the learning curve of the 2500 difficult? Will I become frustrated with having to source my own sounds and drum kits? If I do go 2500, I could probably just use that strictly for sampled beats, and then continue using FL Studio for all other music.