The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
MPC3000 NOTE DURATION Drum Machines & Samplers
Old 27th January 2007
Gear Head

MPC3000 NOTE DURATION

(note: Im new to the mpc3000 but not to making music)

OK so let's say I have a sampled 2 bar loop on my mpc3000, I wanna use the note off parameter for the pad, so it sounds only when I press the pad and not all the way until the end of the recorded sample.

I think ya'll already know the question...
how do I make the note stay playing for 2 perfect bars so the sample "loops"?

I tried SEQ EDIT, edit NOTE DATA, edit VEL/DURATION... The only way it looped perfect is if I typed "768" on the VALUE entry... so let's say it's a 4 bar loop, it would be "1536". Oh, and setting the "DO" to "SET TO VAL".
Is this the only way to do what I wanna do?
So that means I have to do this every time I sample something?

Now, what if I wanna chop the hell out of a sample and play a very rythmical loop, let's say out of "8" chops on different pads?
*I know how to "chop" on the 3000, I just need the note value answer...

In software I just play the whole thing, and then select the midi notes and set them to "legato".. that's it...
(and I know software is "quicker" than the 3000, I just wanna know how to do the same on the mpc)

thanks in advance
Old 27th January 2007
Gear maniac

hold the pad til it gets to end of bar you want. dont get no quicker than that.
Old 27th January 2007
Gear Head

yeah but that would cause a silence between the samples.. (when I lift the fingers)

I just wanna know if there's a way to do this.. I don't want the sample to keep playing 'til the end when it's in "mono" mode.. knowimsayin??
Old 27th January 2007
Gear maniac

Quote:
yeah but that would cause a silence between the samples.. (when I lift the fingers)
why?

Do it all the time.

this is a musical instrument. you are in control