The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Where to start?
Old 25th January 2007
Deleted #27375
Where to start?

Whats up people, I am starting out in the recording industry and want to know where to start. Let me tell you a little about myself.

I studied the violin at the New England Conservatory in Boston for 15 years, took private lessons, theory classes, orchestra, chamber music, the whole nine yards. I also was a DJ for about 5 years then stopped because I wanted to focus on school. Right now I am in grad school for Computer Science. Anyways, I think I have a huge advantage over anyone else in this industry just starting out. Music is always on my mind. I'm always humming new things that I can think of that would sound good. So I think that in order to make my dreams come true I need to act on it and make the initiative. Now onto the real question.

I really want to start producing. I need to know a few things before I just start buying equipment. First and foremost I was thinking of buying a Mac G5, would this be feasible? Or should I go with a PC? Secondly is there a big difference between buying Music software and buying hardware, like synthesizers. I know there is alot more that I have not mentioned that I need. I just need a step in the right direction before I start out tracks. BTW, I have a source for getting things at a big discount.
Old 25th January 2007
LCD
Gear Addict

To be concise:

PC or Mac.... I say Mac...

Hardware vs. Software? I'm not even gonna start that debate. You'll have 10 pages worth of thread and no answers. I suggest you go to your local Guitar Center or similar spot and mess with the synths and see if u like it. I just made the leap from software to hardware and I can say I enjoy making beats with my Fantom more.... but certain things are easier on a computer. It's all about preference.

Good luck! You'll need it. Once u figure out if you want to go hardware or software, lemme know and I can try to suggest some things to u.

-D-