The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Recording to DSD
Old 12th March 2013
Lives for gear

Recording to DSD

Hi Michael,

I'd love to hear your thoughts on recording to DSD, in terms of your experiences, process, work flow and resulting sonics in general. I thought this was a fascinating decision on your part wrt The Bronx record, and I agree... really fitting for a punk rock band!

I've been using Pro Tools and Apogees for many years, and, over the last couple years have integrated a couple linked/synced Korg MR2000S 5.6MHz/1-bit DSD recorders for some live tracking, bouncing and always for mixdown (analog out from PT).

I've never heard raw guitars captured "digitally" any better than at 5.6 DSD. Actually, this applies to most any source. But, the format seems perfectly suited for high energy, guitar-driven rock n roll. It's been a real ear-opening experience for me, even considering the practical limitations of the 1-bit format.

Anyway, I'm very appreciative of your distinguished work and the stellar results you've achieved in your career. I thought it might be fun to share some of your "format-related" recording experiences and considerations as well, as you highlighted this album and recording to DSD specifically (in the Soundgarden's Superunknown thread).

Thank you so much GS and Michael for this Q&A!

All the best!

Quote:
Originally Posted by fexurbis View Post
... The Bronx record ...

Funnily- we recorded to a Sonoma 24 channel DSD recorder with Meitner I/O. I thought it was really fitting to record a punk rock band to the most hi-rez system available. Unfortunately, when it came time to mix, the SMPTE option in the DSD rig wouldn't work with an SSL. We wound up mixing in Pro Tools, which was a shame.
Old 14th March 2013
Michael Beinhorn

String6theory-