The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
that 10:1 ratio on the distressor, what should one use it for?
Old 18th May 2003
Gear Maniac

that 10:1 ratio on the distressor, what should one use it for?

I'm pretty new to compression culture. I know theyhave a very different compression curve, but what should one use it for? Tracking or mix? What instruments, what dynamic? This is so mysterious to me still.
Old 19th May 2003
Lives for gear

Re: that 10:1 ratio on the distressor, what should one use it for?

Quote:
Originally posted by khai
I'm pretty new to compression culture. I know theyhave a very different compression curve, but what should one use it for? Tracking or mix? What instruments, what dynamic? This is so mysterious to me still.
Pretty much anything you'd use an LA-2A on. I love it on vocals, but if you don't get your settings right, you'll risk turning your vocal into an overcompressed pile of cleveland steamer.
Old 19th May 2003
The Distressor's "daddy"

Re: Re: that 10:1 ratio on the distressor, what should one use it for?

Quote:
Originally posted by e-cue
Pretty much anything you'd use an LA-2A on. I love it on vocals, but if you don't get your settings right, you'll risk turning your vocal into an overcompressed pile of cleveland steamer.
<LAUGHING!> Cleveland Steamer? I don't wanna know!

Yeah the 10:1 "OPTO" ratio on the Distressor is a slow beast, thats probably best on slower moving things like Vocals and Bass or Slide Guitar... It has a very smooth knee and you wont hear the first 3 - 6 dB of compression, or even more...