The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
pt mixing question-how to import all settings.
Old 25th April 2004
Lives for gear

pt mixing question-how to import all settings.

hi charles.

i am a pro tools newbie(im using le 6.1 on a digi 002 rack) and i cant figure out a easy way to do this(actually i havent even been able to do at all as of yet). here is the situation.

i have tracked 13 songs and i have the 1st song all mixed and edited and i want the same exact plugins,levels,panning and settings on all of the songs. how do i copy all of those things from one song and paste them into all of the other songs? i have been told that this is one of the downfalls of pt and ther is no easy way to do this. could you give me newbie step-by-step directions on how to do this?

thanks -jay
Old 25th April 2004
Gear nut

There are a few ways...

I can think of a couple of ways to do this off the top of my head:

method 1)
-take the session you want to copy the settings from and to a "save as" with a name you'll recognize, like "mix settings"

-select all the audio in the tracks (use the all group, place the cursor anywhere in the session, then use apple+A on a Mac or control+A on the PC) and hit the delete key on the keyboard (so the audio tracks are empty but still contain plugs, panning, routing, etc...)

-click on the audio menu and select all, then clear selected, then remove

-save it and close it

-open the session you'd like to apply those settings to, and under the file menu, click import session data and choose the "mix settings" session you just saved

-in the box that pops up there is a section titled "source tracks", click on the dropdowns that default to "do not import" and choose "import as new track" and click on ok.