The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Knowing music theory, important or not?
Old 24th January 2019
Gear Maniac

Knowing music theory, important or not?

You mentioned in another thread that you work on chord structures a lot. Listening to your songs it sounds like you know what you’re doing in that department.

In my own experience, knowing a bit of theory helps understanding what happens in music that I like and it is often a great help when getting stuck in my own songwriting.

How much are you into music theory and the importance of such knowledge? Any defining moments when you cracked the code, so to speak?

And a follow-up question to that is what your background in music is, self-taught or any formal training?

Regards,
Carl
Old 24th January 2019
Special Guest

Quote:
Originally Posted by cramse View Post
You mentioned in another thread that you work on chord structures a lot. Listening to your songs it sounds like you know what you’re doing in that department.

In my own experience, knowing a bit of theory helps understanding what happens in music that I like and it is often a great help when getting stuck in my own songwriting.

How much are you into music theory and the importance of such knowledge? Any defining moments when you cracked the code, so to speak?

And a follow-up question to that is what your background in music is, self-taught or any formal training?

Regards,
Carl
I remember taking 1 year of piano classes when I was 7 or 8 but after that we could only afford piano or french so I picked french because the teacher was doing a terrible job of imbuing some sense of wonder in the process and the information.
(Same reason why 99% of people think they're bad at things, really. It's almost never them, it's the half assed teacher's fault :/)