The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Roy Harper - Stormcock
Old 1st July 2009
Lives for gear

Roy Harper - Stormcock

Dear Mr. Leckie,

'Stormcock' is such a special album! Could you share some impressions from the sessions, especially regarding the acoustic guitars from Roy and Jimmy Page and the orchestrations?

thanks so much!
Old 1st July 2009
Gear Maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by doorknocker View Post

'Stormcock' is such a special album!
thumbsup one of the best!
Old 2nd July 2009
Gear Nut

Roy Harper Stormcock

Hi Y'all
This is my first time on here so hope you're receiving me loud and clear...
Yes. Stormcock is a great record for listening to all through ...its only four songs and all acoustic. I was just a lowly tape op button pusher on sessions which took a good few months in hot summer 1970 all in studio 3 Abbey Road. I wasn't on many sessions but went on to engineer and produce another 7 albums with Roy so he's a bit of a mate really. Most of engineering done by Phil McDonald who did Beatles and went on to Apple and did all John, George and Harry Nilson etc. I tape op'ed for Phil on George Harrison and John Lennon He's the best and with Peter Bown at Abbey Road taught me how to be on sessions and get good sound. ( still searching...)