The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Outboard essentials Dynamic Microphones
Old 15th December 2010
Gear Head
Outboard essentials

Ken, To be able to ask you a question is an outright pleasure and gift of this oustanding forum. I have thought long and hard on what to ask and it has to be, as a fairley new engineer, I am smitten with plug ins, and particularly so with UAD. You mentioned earlier how you also like some of the plug ins, however, if you had to have two or three pieces of outboard gear in terms of proccessers and effects, what would these pieces be.The reason for the question is simple in that obviously money dictates what I can have at the moment, however, I do have loads of plug ins and would want to (after I've paid for my neve and api mic pres) buy some out board if it helps. Iv'e hreard many good things about the la 2a for instance, would this be considered a piece of MUST HAVE outboard. As also, wether true or not, Ive heard that outboard eq is much more superior to plug ins, then there is Limiters, where signal can be pushed higher, taken you have a reel to reel to record it on. Yeah, what three pieces would you have if you were stuck with a daw Ken?PS Thanks for your awsome output over the years, its tremendous how much you have achieved.

Andy
Old 15th December 2010
Please bear in mind that there aren't any "Silver Bullets" in this game and rather than put our guest on the spot about what to purchase you might want to concentrate more on technique questions...? But anyway... Best of luck!

Ken? (I have held back most of the "what shall I buy" questions.... But this was put so nicely!....)

heh

Desert island gear question.
Old 15th December 2010
Special Guest