The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Questions about the track "Cloud Generator"
Old 15th May 2016
Here for the gear

Thumbs up Questions about the track "Cloud Generator"

Hi KiNK! 

Thanks so much for doing the Q&A, you’re music and style really inspires me, especially your live performances, they’re so full of energy!! 

I’m relatively new to production (1 year) and am taking in everything I can right now. But a key thing I’m finding really helps is to critically listening to tracks. I think your track Cloud Generator is extremely impressive, mainly because it feels on the surface quite simple but it’s got such massive impact and I feel there is a lot more going on under the hood than meets the eye.

Firstly, sorry for all the questions on this! I hope you don’t mind I’ve been waiting a while to ask them! :D

1. The shakers have so much width, body and are really in your face. How do you get them to have such presence and how do you get them to not sound boring and repetitive?

2. There’s like a white noise type noise that comes in during the beginning and sits with the shakers, how do you get that to not sound boring and repetitive despite the fact it’s just the same noise? What pattern is it playing or is it just constant, it doesn’t seem to hit on the kick but seems to change slightly over 2 beats?

3. At the start the bass sounds like a sub/lower bass but I can hear it on headphones, how have you done this? It also sounds really smooth what instrument have you used for this and what sort of processing (EQ, comp, distortion etc) did you do on this?

4. The bass then seems to evolve and gets gritty and fizzy. Is the sub/lower part layered with a higher bass? How did you make this and how do you get it to sound so gritty and fizzy!? Also what processing have you put on this?