The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Charles: How did you get your foot in the door?
Old 10th November 2002
Gear Maniac

Question Charles: How did you get your foot in the door?

Old 11th November 2002
FX smörgåsbord user

Chae,

"how did you get yourself "in the door" for regular high profile sessions? Could you share your journey from the bottom to the top?"

I studied engineering at a university, and about a year in I did an internship at a studio that led to an assistant engineering gig. So, I dropped out of college + took the job. I assisted at Crescent Moon Studio's in Miami, Gloria + Emilio Estefan's studio where Eric Schilling was the Chief Engineer (and someone I consider to have real golden ears). From time to time he would set-up a sound and leave the room allowing me to do the punch-ins (this was with tape). Eric is a great recording + mixing engineer (endless Platinum credits, Grammies, etc...) and being able to sit behind him, learning by watching him work, training my ears by listening to him get sounds while mixing was invaluable experience.

In the beginning I assisted on projects for Gloria Estefan + Jon Secada, and later I began engineering and doing some of my first major label mixes for them. From there, I became Desmond Childs' chief engineer and worked on projects with Jon Bon Jovi, Aerosmith, Billie Myers, Hanson, and Ricky Martin. I was a tracking engineer on Ricky's English debut record, but a mix I did for one song was accepted by Ricky, Desmond + the label to be the final. The song was "Livin' La Vida Loca" and that led to mixing five more songs on the album, including two other singles "Shake Your Bon Bon" + "Private Emotion". My work on Ricky's album also led to my first two Grammy nominations + a Latin Grammy nomination.