The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Greetings + Sharing Mixing / PT / DAW Tips+Techs
Old 1st November 2002
FX smörgåsbord user

Smile Greetings + Sharing Mixing / PT / DAW Tips+Techs

Hi All,

A little bit about myself:

My name is Charles Dye and I'm an engineer, mixer + producer based out of Miami, Florida. As a mixer I've worked with Jon Bon Jovi, Sammy Hagar, Julio Iglesias, Ricky Martin, + Jon Secada. As an engineer I've worked with Aerosmith, Hanson, Jennifer Lopez, Shakira, Gloria Estefan, Billie Myers, + Frank Sinatra. A highlight of my career was last year when I received a Latin Grammy Award for Best Engineered Album for Thalia's "Arrasando".

I've been making records with Pro Tools as the sole multi-track for about seven years now, and in the last five many of my mixes have also been done completely inside Pro Tools with no external console or outboard gear. At the same time I've mixed a number of records on large format analog + digital consoles in the last few years.

Earlier this year I started a website charlesdye.com that I call The Pro Tools Learning Site. I use it as a place to share with other users what I've learned about making + mixing records with Pro Tools. I also write a column called Hard Disk Life each month in DIGIZINE (an e-zine on Digi's website) focusing on teaching mixing. We are currently mixing a song online, going through it a track at a time, discussing the plug-ins, the FX's + the automation. Much of what I write about is applicable to users of any platform. So whether you use PT or not, you may want to check it out. The previous month's columns are available here.

About being your guest here @ GEARSLUTZ.com:

I'm really looking forward to being November's guest moderator. Thanks a lot to Jules for asking me, this is going to be a lot of fun!