The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Nevermind and In Utero, in retrospect
Old 16th June 2009
Gear Head

Nevermind and In Utero, in retrospect

Hi all - noob here with a question for Mr Vig:

When Nirvana's In Utero came out (and even in the hype preceding its release) I recall reading a number of pieces on how "raw" the record was -- unlike the, ahem, glossy commercial sheen of Nevermind.

Now maybe I just remember history differently, but I recall Nevermind coming across as anything but glossy: at the time, it was a sonic sledgehammer upside the head, and that's what made it so popular in my opinion -- it became "commercial" because it was so raw and so refreshing in contrast to what was out there.

In short: how do you hear Nevermind in retrospect? Did you think you as producer were applying a glossy sheen to the band? Or do you recall making one of the toughest sounding records out there?
Old 17th June 2009
Gear Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatterglass View Post
Hi all - noob here with a question for Mr Vig:

When Nirvana's In Utero came out (and even in the hype preceding its release) I recall reading a number of pieces on how "raw" the record was -- unlike the, ahem, glossy commercial sheen of Nevermind.

Now maybe I just remember history differently, but I recall Nevermind coming across as anything but glossy: at the time, it was a sonic sledgehammer upside the head, and that's what made it so popular in my opinion -- it became "commercial" because it was so raw and so refreshing in contrast to what was out there.

In short: how do you hear Nevermind in retrospect? Did you think you as producer were applying a glossy sheen to the band? Or do you recall making one of the toughest sounding records out there?

I think Nevermind still sounds really fresh. And I don't think it sounds too glossy.
It's a pretty simple recording really, and it sounds like a band, playing their asses off!